Monday, March 11, 2019

"E" Pennants-- Part 2: A Combination of Awards and Iowa State

An earlier award, the Navy's "E"  Award, was created during Theodore Roosevelt's administration in 1906.  By the end of World War I, there was also the Army's "A" Award and the Army-Navy Munitions Board "Star".

These three separate awards continued for six months after the U.S. entry into World War II.  In July 1942, the War department proclaimed  that the new Army-Navy "E" Award would merge the three into a single, service-wide award.

All factories engaged in war production were eligible to receive this new award.  Government, as well as privately-owned plants  were also eligible, along with contractors.

The award was for industry, one academic institution and one individual received one.  Iowa State College (now Iowa State University) received one for its contribution to the production of uranium for the Manhattan Project.  Dr,  Harley L. Wilhelm received the award for inventing the Ames process for the extraction, purification and  mass production for the Manhattan Project., while he was at Iowa State.


No comments:

Post a Comment